20 Comments

Microfiction city -- Jack Vance would have loved this!

Vermillion; byzantine; sunny

A quick comment and question about _A Memory Called Empire_

Right at the beginning of the novel we are presented with a strained relationship between Mahit and her imago, Yskander. For some reason this reminded me of the initial strained relationship between Speicus, an alien telepathic being and Fred Cassidy, protagonist of _Doorways in the Sand_ by Roger Zelazny. Is this similarity deliberate? Subconscious? Both? Neither? I know that _Doorways…_ was published prior to your birth, but you said your dad brought you up properly. So maybe you have read it?

Congratulation on winning a Hugo. It was richly deserved.

Expand full comment

Microfiction city. Color: oxblood. Adjective: frenetic. Weather: lake-effected.

Expand full comment

A request for Oracular Advice: I have found my dream job and I'm about to undertake quite a lot of international travel for it. It is both Wonderful! and Stressful! and most of the time I feel in over my head, like I'm drinking from a fire-hose. How does one meet these kind of life-upending changes with grace?

Expand full comment

Thank you for the news letter and good luck with everything! I am writing to ask for oracular advice please: my ex partner and I worked in the same field, and so does the woman he is now in love with. How do I productively diffuse my rage?

Expand full comment

microfiction city please! color: pearl, adjective: spicy, weather: sultry

Expand full comment

Microfictional cities... What a lovely idea for writing! Amethyst/Dreamy/Mist

Expand full comment

Microfiction city! Color: honey; adjective: mournful; weather: anticipatory

Expand full comment

City: ochre, insular, windy

Also, something about this game makes me think of Angelica Gorodischer’s Kalpa Imperial. Have you read it? It’s a meandering fictional history, and I loved it.

Expand full comment

Hello! Could you share what your cadence of writing, editing, submitting short stories was when you were a newer writer compared to now, what changed, what you wished you did differently? Would be especially happy to hear the story behind the publishing of one of your favorites--maybe Hydraulic Emperor or City of Salt?

Expand full comment

Oh please, microfiction city. Color: bronze, adjective: sensuously, weather: cold

Expand full comment

As much as I love the idea of microfictional cities, I have a work/life balance question for you as you seem slightly ahead of me on a similar career path. I recently defended my phd is a sciency field and I write scifi (so far I've taken the indie route, but I have an idea I think I'll try to take the traditional route). The day I defended, the research organization I work for posted a position for a staff scientist that reads like my resume (it isn't a coincidence). So, is it possible to juggle a demanding career position and write quality fiction? Are you happy with your decision to do both?

Expand full comment

Microfictional city please!

Turquoise; ancient; thunderstorm

Expand full comment

The cities sound brilliant. Slate grey, smug, drizzle

Expand full comment

Microfiction city! Color: teal; adjective: contumacious; weather: hail.

Expand full comment

Microfictional city. Color: #fcdae9; adjective: congested; weather: impaired.

Expand full comment